Giving Up On Being a Maverick

A few years ago, I was taking a Leadership course where we had to write (and present) a paper about ourselves in ten years.  One of the topics was “how will others see you in ten years?” 

I decided that I wanted people to see me as a bit of a maverick – someone who doesn’t always play by the rules and isn’t overly concerned what people think about me.  I want to be the guy in the back of the room that only speaks up from time to time and says the oddest things… but is usually right!

“Be a maverick” has kind of stuck in my head.

Just in case you’re insanely curious (like me), here’s an interesting Mental Floss post on the origin of the word.

Since last May, I’ve been writing my personal leadership philosophy.  As I was editing it today, I noticed the phrase “strive to be a maverick”.

As I’m sure you are well aware, “maverick” has become a bit overused lately.  In fact, Lake Superior State University has added “maverick” to it’s 2009 list of banned words

lets-get-mavericky

So… thanks to John McCain and Sarah Palin, I’m having to revise my leadership philosophy. 

Thanks a lot!!!  Makes me feel even better about voting for the other guy.

It used to be a such good word…

Comments are closed.

