You Simply Love

Saturday, I was listening to the Pillar album, Where Do We Go From Here, while driving back from Altus, OK.  It had been a while, and I had forgotten how good it was.

One song, in particular, really jumped out at me – Simply.

Check out the chorus:

“You simply love. Despite all the stupid things I’ve done.  It’s hard to remember, that you simply love.”

The song ends with…

“I don’t know why. I can’t understand. I don’t know why. I can’t comprehend.”

God simply loves. Nothing more. Nothing less.

The story of the prodigal son is probably the best illustration of this. No matter how bad we screw up, God runs to us with open arms when we return to Him.

What if we loved like that? What if we simply loved? No strings attached. No conditions. No judgment.  No hatred. No history. No memory of how others have wronged us. No condemnation. No expectations. No selfishness. No pride.

Simply love…

Comments are closed.

