Sunday Setlist … November 30, 2008

It’s that time of the week again when I participate in Fred McKinnon’s Sunday Setlist funfest.

Today was one of the very few Sundays at GracePoint when I just show up for one service and have no responsbilities (other than getting the kids to church…) I’m essentially on an every-other-week rotation alternating between running sound and playing in the band.  Due to Thanksgiving travels, I couldn’t make band practice so I simply participated in worship.  (Although I did take notes on Eron’s mixing since I never actually get to listen to his FOH work.)

To the setlist…

Today kicked off the new Beatles-themed Christmas series, “Let it Be Christmas”.

  • Lady Madonna by The Beatles (walk-in and exit)
  • One Way by Hillsong
  • You’re the One by Chris Tomlin
  • Let God Arise by Chris Tomlin
  • Song of Hope by Robbie Seay Band
  • Come Together by The Beatles (offering)

The band rocked the Beatles songs, although I was disappointed that Jeff didn’t buy a Hofner violin bass for the series… [Edit. I reworded this due to poor choice of wording that was apparently misunderstood…]

One Way has been around a while at GP, but the message is great and the song rocks.  My favorite part of the song is the way the bridge builds up.

You’re the One was a staple for a while, but I don’t remember it showing up on a Sunday morning for quite some time. Gil does an awesome job singing on this one everytime.  I really like this song, but it doesn’t fit my mold for a great sing-along, corporate worship song.  I’d be curious to know if anyone else uses this one…

Let God Arise is another great song.  I like it when Chris Tomlin kicks things up a notch.

Song of Hope is really growing on me.  I like it more every time I hear it.  It fits Andy’s voice really well too.

All in all, It was a great Sunday to worship at GracePoint

I’ve got to say, though, that a friend’s Facebook status got me thinking this morning.  I like the Beatles.  And I like the idea of a Beatles-themed series.  But, I’m a little concerned about Christmas Eve.  I’m not sure what the plan is for the Christmas Eve service is yet, but i’m hoping that it’s not just a bunch of Beatles songs.

Christmas Eve services aren’t a great time to break from tradition.  People expect Christmas songs, a sermon on the birth of Christ, and singing Silent Night by candlelight.  GP tried non-traditional for it’s first Christmas Eve service four years ago.  I wasn’t there, but I hear it didn’t go over very well.  Apparently people got up and walked out.  A bunch of Beatles covers doesn’t necessarily make for a great Christmas Eve service.

Sorry for that little editorial…

Have a great week!

3 Responses to Sunday Setlist … November 30, 2008

  1. I hope Christmas Eve is just what GP is every other day of the year, a good mixture of non-traditional and what I’ve come to know as GP-style (contemporary Christian songs, cool videos, etc.).

    I agree, a bunch of Beatles covers would be a bad idea because as big of a Beatles fan I am, I am a much bigger Jesus Freak. I also love traditional Christmas songs and would love to have some of those thrown in there along with “All the Lonely People.

    I thought Mike had a great sermon about keeping our focus on Christ this season and based on what he said, I would assume that would extend to Christmas Eve.

    I loved the songs this week but am ready for some new stuff. Maybe it’s just me. I really liked Andy’s song and Gil’s Let God Arise. Those were awesome. Of course, the Beatles songs were perfection as well.

    Long comment, huh? LOL. Have a great week Ronnie!

  2. Steff says:

    Awesome! Beatles songs in church. I agree not for Christmas Eve tho………

  3. mandoron says:

    Thanks for commenting! Andrea, I think you nailed it. It doesn’t seem like you would be focusing on Christ.

