Mamma Mia

Last night I took Andrea to see the movie Mamma Mia.  I thought I would share a few thoughts on the movie.

  • Chick flick.  Period.
  • We saw the musical last year, and I think the musical was better than the movie. I, like many, wondered how in the world you turn ABBA songs into a story.  It works pretty well actually, but the element of surprise was lost the second time around. 
  • Pierce Brosnan can’t sing.  At all.  In fact, none of the older men in the movie can sing.  The women aren’t bad.
  • It’s hilarious to see my kids sings along to Andrea’s ABBA CD.  They get all the words wrong.  Ok, that has nothing to do with the movie.
  • I don’t remember the musical having a “Greek chorus“.  That was often funny.
  • The filming was unusual.  It seemed like the lighting was atypical for a movie.  And I don’t think they used much makeup for the actors and actresses.  Not bad.  Just different.
  • They were two guys sitting near us in the theatre…
  • The audience was 90% female.  They were a few men with their “dates”, but mostly it was lady’s night out.
  • The women in the theatre “ooo’ed” every time Pierce was on the screen.
  • People actually clapped at the end of the movie.  Hadn’t seen that since Star Wars.

Take your wife.  It’ll make her happy.

One Response to Mamma Mia

  1. media boy says:

    this is one of the only plays i’ve ever seen, which ended up being great… it’s funny to think of ol’ Pierce taking a stab at singing, yeeesh

