Funeral

Today, we attended Grandpa Davis’ funeral in Lone Wolf, OK and graveside ceremony in Warren, OK. (I’m curious to know how Lone Wolf got it’s name.)

It was a very nice funeral, and a reminder just how big the family is.  He was survived by one son, 8 grandkids, 17 great-grandkids, and 8 great, great-grandkids.  Not too mention the offspring of his brothers, and Grandma Davis’ siblings.

The funniest thing happened during the service.  About halfway through, you hear “I’m proud to be an Okie from Muskogee…”  Someone forgot to turn off their cellphone!  A lot of people reached for theirs at that point.

Unfortunately, my Uncle Joe’s funeral was at the exact same time today in Elgin, OK.  I really would’ve liked to go and see some family that I hadn’t seen in many years.  But oh well. I did get to visit the funeral home on my way to Altus Thursday morning.

We’re headed back home tomorrow.

Comments are closed.

