Squinting in a Fog

Yesterday, Bryson spoke on the subject of love using “The Love Chapter”, 1 Corinthians 13, as the main text.  (You will be able to watch the message here in a few days, if you’re interested.)

Ironically, a verse that Bryson didn’t even read is what actually jumped out at me.  I had never read this in the Message before.

1 Corinthians 13:12

“We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us!”

I don’t know about you, but I find great comfort in this verse.  God knows that we don’t understand everything, and He empathizes with us.  But someday He’ll let us in on His plans. Now if I only could wait with patience and faith, I’d be okay.

Thoughts?

3 Responses to Squinting in a Fog

  1. Very cool. It’s hard to wait on God sometimes, but He knows best. I’ve never been disappointed by His timing because it’s always turned out for the best.

    I thought yesterday’s experience was awesome! I went home and immediately got my husband to tell him that I love him, no matter what. We had a wonderful talk – the best in weeks – and it was because of the Love Bible verse and Bryson’s call to action.

    I love the Message Bible. It is clear to me what the heck is going on. No thees, thous or Whosoevers.

    Hey- Is Andrea going to Women of Faith this year?

  2. mandoron says:

    She’s gone the last 2 years, but I don’t remember her saying anything so far. I’ll have to ask and let you know.

  3. mandoron says:

    Andrea and I only had one conversation based on the sermon yesterday.

    We are wondering if Bryson and Susan would let us bring some popcorn over and watch them fight…

