Landslide

It’s been bugging me the last few days that I haven’t blogged about music in a while. Music has been kind of a key component of the blog, but I guess I haven’t had much to say on the subject lately.  But I do have a few thoughts rolling around my head today.

One of the songs that’s been in my head the last few days is Landslide – written by Stevie Nicks and originally recorded by Fleetwood Mac in 1975.

I really like the original version, but I have to say that the covers have been pretty stinkin’ good. I recently heard the Smashing Pumpkins version which I thought fit Billy Corgan’s voice pretty well.

What got me thinking about the song though, is the Dixie Chicks’ version from a few years ago. I heard it again somewhere this weekend.

Now just for the record, I can’t stand the Dixie Chicks and I seriously dislike country music. But I do think that their cover is better than the original.

And it got me thinking. I think that this song might work well if you sped it up a bit and turned it into a rock song. Use an electric guitar to drive the rhythm instead of the finger-picked acoustic. And I think I know just the person to rock the vocals.

So I’m thinking about messing around it with it and see what happens. It also occurred to me that it might work as a bluegrass song, but I’m going to stick with rock for now.

What do you think?

2 Responses to Landslide

  1. Terry says:

    One of my favorite songs – and I actually like the Dixie Chicks (mainly because my grandpa actually made a fiddle for Martie (of of the chicks) and she played if on Austin City Limits – long story) ANYWAYS – I found this link a while back and I saved it because it was a cool version of the song…just another cover version….

  2. sillydreamer says:

    Well no one will ever top Stevie’s version, but the Dixie Chicks did a very good job, even if I don’t care for them either. Stevie has said that that particular publishing deal made her 7 million so I guess others agree 🙂

