Unsubscribing from a Blog

Every morning while eating my cereal, I pull up Bloglines and start perusing the 79 blogs and news feeds that I subscribe to. (If you aren’t using a blog reader to read your favorite blogs, I highly recommend trying out Bloglines. I think you’ll like it.)

One of those is a comic strip artist who publishes his work via his blog. This guy is highly creative and pretty funny. Yesterday’s strip was hilarious. I was going to link to it, but I decided not to due to the f-bomb in the strip. Then it occurred to me that I wouldn’t be willing to forward 75% of his stuff. Then I wondered if I should even be reading it…

So I unsubscribed.

Phillipians 4:8 says “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”

I just don’t think the comic strip fits that criteria…

(Note: Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that Christians should only watch, listen to, and read Christian media. I think there are secular (non-Christian) things in this world that do make us better people. In fact, there are probably a lot of them. But we do need to be wary because some of them could cause us (or others) to stumble. )

3 Responses to Unsubscribing from a Blog

  1. Jason Burgess says:

    One of my favorite bands recently released an album of original songs targeted at children called Snacktime (http://www.bnlmusic.com/snacktime/). After listening to some of it, I thought this could be a good gift for my nieces & nephews who might enjoy their silliness. Then I had to ask myself, is it appropriate to give music to children from a band called Barenaked Ladies? As a parent of some of those children, I thought you’d be a good person to ask.

  2. mandoron says:

    How bizarre… I’ve got a Barenaked Ladies album from several years ago. The songs definitely aren’t child-friendly.

    Probably not an ideal gift… There would be some awkward conversations about the name of the band.

  3. mandoron says:

    I asked Andrea. She said it would be okay.

