Lord, make us powerful

My church, GracePoint, just kicked off the One Prayer series like many other churches around the country.

In our lifegroup last night, we watched a DVD lesson titled “Make Us Powerful” and had some great discussions.

I find it so ironic that we only experience God’s power when we do non-powerful things (in the world’s eyes) like submitting, praying, expressing humility, etc…

2 Corinthians 12:9 says

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

It’s just not rational that we have to express weakness in order for God to show his power in us. That makes it really hard sometimes.

It would be far easier if the Bible said “God helps those who help themselves” or “When you show your power, God will multiply it tenfold”.

But the scripture doesn’t say either of those things. It says “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.” (James 4:10)

I was going to say more, but I can’t top the Word of God on this…

Any other thoughts?

Comments are closed.

