Music Review – Downhere and Tobymac

A couple of new musical projects entered my world this week and I thought I’d pass along my thoughts.

Monday, I told you about the free CD download from Downhere. (Downhere bassist, Glenn Lavender, even stopped by for a comment on my blog.) I listened to “Wide-eyed and Mystified” a couple of times on my trip to Colorado this week. The album is mellower than my normal preference, but it’s still worth listening to. You can’t beat the price either. The lyrics are very well written, and I really like the vocals. I was hoping for more guitar rock, but I’ll get over it. I particularly liked “The More” and “A Better Way”. “Remember Me” would be awesome to play during communion someday at church. You still have until the end of June to download the CD for free.

My wife picked up Tobymac’s new live CD/DVD “Alive and Transported”. For less than $20 you get both a live concert DVD and a CD of the concert. Go buy it. Now. Seriously. Stop reading my blog and go buy it. Toby and the Diverse City band are just ridiculously talented, and are simply awesome in concert. Even on DVD. The DVD also includes a behind-the-scenes documentary that is also very good. There are tons of great moments. My favorite parts (other than the whole thing…) were “Extreme Days” and “Made to Love”. I’ve always thought of “Made to Love” as a worship song, and they really took a moment with the song to get everyone worshipping and not just rocking out. Edge of Grace played the song in church this morning. I hope to someday incorporate a few things from the DVD. A definite must-have!

Feel free to chime in with your own thoughts on either Downhere or Tobymac.

Comments are closed.

