You Know You’re Getting Old When…

Tuesday was a bit of a milestone in my life. The last 6 months or so, I’d been noticing hair growing on my ears. I remember a man at my church growing up who always had large tufts of hair growing from his ears. I don’t want to be that man. Also, I’ve been struggling to keep the nose hair in check with my electric razor. So while I was at Walgreens picking up a prescription, I decided to buy my first ear and nose hair trimmer.

Approximately seven or eight years ago, my wife and I were at a Christmas Party for our Sunday School class. It was a white elephant/gag gift party with a $10 limit. I brought an ear and nose hair trimmer that I’d found on sale. I was quite proud of myself for coming up with the idea.

A good friend, Mike Grimes, was lucky enough to select my gift from the pile. Instead of laughing or some other appropriate response, he starts thanking me. He had actually been considering buying one and was quite excited about getting a trimmer as a gift! I was really disappointed at the time, but in hindsight it was pretty funny.

I’ve been thinking about calling Mike to let him know that I’ve joined the club.

2 Responses to You Know You’re Getting Old When…

  1. Max says:

    Real men use tweezers.

  2. mandoron says:

    Ouch!

    Well I guess my father didn’t raise me right…

