Personal Leadership Philosophy

My boss recently asked me to read “The Leader’s Compass” by Ed Ruggero and Dennis Haley. He is creating a personal leadership philosophy based on the book, and thought it would be easier to present to us if we had read it first.

The Leader's Compass

It’s a good book. Basically a short fable, much like Patrick Lencioni’s books.

Here’s a couple of the key things that reached out and grabbed me:

  • Managing is about stuff; leading is about people. I know this, but I have a tendency to forget it. It’s easy to get wrapped up in schedules and processes, and forget about leading the people.
  • Leaders need to remain positive, especially in difficult situations. Again, something I’ve been forgetting lately.
  • Leaders make their expectations clear to everyone. I’ve recently stepped back into a formal leadership position at work, and I keep forgetting to do this…
  • Leaders listen. I get distracted easily when other people are talking.

In my previous department, the VP made his supervisors create a “Leader’s Agenda” which was an explanation of what each person’s core values and leadership principals were. I wasn’t a supervisor, but I thought it would be a good idea to create one for myself.

It’s been two years since I added it to my to-do list…

“The Leader’s Compass” walks you through creating a personal leadership philosophy, and encourages you to share it with everyone around you. This way they understand your expections clearly and can hold you accountable to your philosophy. “Ronnie, you said were going to be a good listener but you look out the window every time we talk…”

I’ve started working on my own personal leadership philosophy. I’ll share it in a few weeks when I’m done.

Have you written down and communicated a personal leadership philosophy? Has your boss ever shared his with you?

One Response to Personal Leadership Philosophy

  1. […] last May, I’ve been writing my personal leadership philosophy.  As I was editing it today, I noticed […]

