And I’ve never been to Boston in the fall.

At least I can say that I’ve been to Boston in the Spring!

I received an email from Mike yesterday asking when I was going to report on Boston.  So here it is. (I didn’t realize that I haven’t posted anything since Saturday.  The horror!)

Boston…

  • Andrea and I arrived safely and almost on-time Sunday afternoon.  Sunday was about 40 degrees and drizzling.  All in all, a good day though. After settling into the hotel (more on my Hilton experience later) we headed to Charlestown.
  • First stop was the Bunker Hill Memorial – site of the first major battle of the Revolutionary War.  Interestingly, the Battle of Bunker Hill was actually fought on Breeds Hill.  Guess they didn’t have GoogleMap in those days…  It was pretty cool, you just don’t see many tall granite obelisks in Kansas.
  • Then we walked South along the Freedom Trail to the navy yard where the USS Constitution is located. “Old Ironsides” was pretty interesting.  It’s not every day that you get to step on a ship built in the 1790’s.  It’s the oldest warship afloat in the world.
  • Sunday night, we enjoyed a nice Italian dinner in the Italian section of the North End. Supposedly, there are over 100 Italian restaurants in that small area.
  • Sidenote – I’m from Oklahoma originally which wasn’t really settled until the Land Rush of 1889.  Statehood was achieved in 1907. It’s very rare to find something in Oklahoma that is more than 100 years old, so I really enjoy coming to the East Coast and seeing buildings and places with histories that stretch back much further.
  • While I’ve been in class the last few days, Andrea has been out sightseeing.  Quincy Market. New England Aquarium. The Olivia Gardner Museum. She also went to the Museum of Fine Art yesterday, where they had a large musical instrument collection including several mandolins from the 1700’s. Wish I could have gone…
  • Last night we went to Legal Sea Foods for dinner. I had steamed lobster – very nice – and Andrea had a variety of shellfish in a tomato broth.  Also very nice. Legal Sea Foods has a mail-order business that I need to check out soon.

That’s about all I’ve got for now. We were going to try to get tickets for the Red Sox game tonight, but I don’t think that’s really possible. Not sure what we’ll do instead. Maybe Harvard Square.

We’ll be home tomorrow.

Comments are closed.

