Worship Philosophy

I came across a great post today over on the Read Scott blog dealing with different philosophies for corporate worship.

Scott’s opinion is that churches fall into 3 categories:

  • Traditional Corporate
  • Concert Corporate
  • Album Corporate

While it often resembles a concert…GracePoint on Easter Sunday

I would have to say that GracePoint falls into the “Album Corporate” category. In general, songs are chosen more for fit and relevancy than for consistency in style and familiarity. (While the songs are chosen more for fit, I think the style is pretty consistent…) New songs may, or may not, stick around. However, we are making a point now to repeat new songs quickly in order to improve familiarity. We are also definitely a “keep them on their toes” kind of church.

The interesting thing is that I don’t think there has necessarily been any specific vision to be this kind of church. Style – yes; corporate worship philosophy – no. It seems to have just happened. Probably due more to band boredom with repetition than a well-thought-out plan.

Any GP’ers care to comment? Or non-GP’ers, what about your church?

2 Responses to Worship Philosophy

  1. Kevin says:

    I think you’re right, GP is probably most in the Album Corporate arena. There seems to be a small number (I’ve heard a few people talk, but I don’t have any numbers to back it up) of GP’ers who would like a little more Concert Corporate feel to worship too. But, I wonder, what will this look like when part of the band goes east (assuming some will)? Will someone lead the change or just let it happen?

    This all also makes me wonder… you used the term “band”. Is band and worship team equivalent or do the terms convey an inherent meaning related to Concert and Album Corporate styles?

  2. mandoron says:

    Wow! Great questions for so early in the morning Kevin.

    In reverse order… I hadn’t thought about an “inherent meaning” related to the words band vs. worship team. Maybe there is. We think of ourselves as a “band”. The term praise band or worship team just don’t seem to fit who we are and what we do, in my opinion. Too churchy, maybe?

    We’ve talked a lot about being much more repetitive in song selection (which leads to a Concert Corporate feel), and I’ve talked to quite a few people about the subject. Honestly, I’m not sure what the balance is. I do seek to find it, though. We can always be better than we are, at whatever we’re doing. (sounds a little like a motivational poster…) At this point, the GP staff has not asked for anything different.

    There’s so many great songs out there, it’s tough to control the urge to do them all!

    At this point, I don’t know how many people in the current lineup will go East. We haven’t really talked about it much. It will make a difference in terms of capability (lead guitar, e.g.). I imagine that, initially, the worship style/philopsophy will be exactly the same. But I’m sure it will evolve over time due to personalities, talent, and especially vocalists, to the point where there is a difference. LifeChurch South OKC has a very distinct worship style compared to the other campuses in OKC.

    Will someone lead the change, or just let it happen? I don’t know… It depends on whether or not there is someone in a leadership position who focuses on the music.

