Listening to God

Last fall, my son played soccer at the YMCA. One of his teammates was always brought to practices and games by his grandmother. Every week before the game, she would start stressing that the boy’s mom wasn’t going to make it to the game. Apparently mom wasn’t a very responsible mother…

About halfway through the season, I felt God telling me to encourage grandma. To tell her what a great job she was doing, and that He was proud of her.

I couldn’t do it. I was too worried that she would look at me funny or think that I was crazy “hearing things from God”. Besides, I didn’t even know her name.

A few weeks went by, and this really started eating at me. Finally, I approached her during the last week of the season. I told her that I felt God wanting me to tell her what a wonderful grandmother she was. I spent a minute or two just encouraging her.

She started crying instantly. You see, she was about to appear in court very soon to sue her daughter for full custody of her grandson. She was being torn apart inside questioning whether she was doing the right thing by protecting her grandson or alienating her daughter. She thanked me profusely, saying that it was just what she needed to hear.

Of course, I questioned why I didn’t obey God sooner…

Fast forward to the present. My son is playing soccer again. The same boy is on his team. A week ago, I talked to his grandma at the game.

She thanked me again for the encouragement. She is still battling her daughter in the courts. My encouraging words and comfort have been constantly in her mind this winter as she has ridden the custody roller coaster.

I had no idea that I would have such an impact. I was a little embarrassed actually…

Hopefully, I’ll obey a little sooner next time.

What is God telling you to do? What holds you back from following through?

Comments are closed.

