Georgia on my mind…

Well, we made it back to Wichita. It’s fun to go on vacation, but it always feels good to come home afterwards. Major highlights of the trip were the Georgia Aquarium, the World of Coca-Cola, Tybee Island, Tybee Beach, and a dolphin tour. Oh yeah, and seeing my sister-in-law Darlene…

Just a couple of thoughts on Georgia. We took a couple hundred pictures, but I’ll spare you.

MMM… Sweet Tea! I grew up drinking “sweetened” tea, but it’s nothing like sweet tea in the South.

I was disappointed to learn that there isn’t a Southern Rock station in Atlanta. Apparently, it changed formats a while back. I was ready for an all Lynard Skynard week.

Tuesday, we drove into downtown Atlanta which was hit by a tornado last week. There was a lot of damage. I’m pretty sure I heard that it was the first time a tornado had hit downtown Atlanta in recorded history.

Thursday we went to the Tybee Island Lighthouse. From the top, you can see the island where, in 1736, John Wesley said his first prayer on the American continent. As a Methodist, I thought that was pretty cool.

It’s hard to go wrong with the Georgia Aquarium. Apparently, it’s the largest in the world. Here’s a picture of the viewing wall on a 6 million gallon tank containing giant groupers, whale sharks, stingrays, etc… It was freakin’ HUGE!

Georgia Aquarium

My daughter, Jada, napping on a bench outside the World of Coca-Cola.

Jada on a bench

My kids had never been to the ocean before. It didn’t take long for Jett to start digging in the sand. That boy loves to dig.

Jett digging at the beach

Quite a few dolphins live in the rivers around Tybee Island. It was pretty tough to take a picture of one with the latency of digital cameras. You had to have the button half-way pressed and guess when one would surface.

Dolphin

Comments are closed.

