More on songwriting…

I feel like I’m getting close to beating a horse, but I’d really like to share this…

I’ve been sitting down reading the March/April issue of Worship Leader magazine.  David M. Edwards wrote an article about Fanny Crosby that blew my mind.  (Unfortunately I can’t link to the article, or anything, because there’s no content from this issue on their website yet.)

As I’ve been reminiscing about songwriting, several things jumped out at me:

  • Fanny wrote over 8,000 hymns in her lifetime.  And she didn’t even start until she was 44!
  • She had a contract for a mere 3 hymns a week, but was actually writing 6 or 7 a day!  I’ve been struggling to write one song a month.
  • And most interesting… “she kept track of her lyrics mentally until she could find someone to record them for her on pen and paper.”  You see, Fanny became blind at the age of 6 and couldn’t write.  She would have several songs at a time in her head until she could find someone to write them down for her.  No songwriting journal.  No recording software.  No voice recorder.  I can’t even fathom that.

(After this, I promise to take a break from blogging about songwriting for a while.)

Comments are closed.

