Songwriting (part 1)

A year and a half ago, I decided to try my hand at songwriting. I wanted to know if I could write a decent song or not. I’ve written several now, but only a few have been any good. My New Year’s Resolution this year, is to write a song for each sermon series at church this year. I’m hoping that the more I write, the better I’ll get.

In the beginning I dabbled around with a few things, but the first one that I ever finished as a complete song is called “Still I’m Waiting”. I came up with the idea for the song while sitting in line at an Oklahoma tollbooth on Thanksgiving Day 2006. You see I always end up in the slowest moving line, no matter where I am. And I usually get a little impatient. I wrote the lyrics at 6 in the morning the next day. The music came about a month later.

I really love the chorus and bridge, but I’ve never been really happy with the verses. One of these days, I’ll try to improve them. When I do, then I’ll record it.

Here’s the chorus: “Waiting in a line that just ain’t movin’. Waiting on a call that just won’t come. Waiting to find my life’s meaning. Waiting on You to show me Your plan.”

I’ll write some more about my songwriting journey over the next week or so.

Comments are closed.

